Breaking: Tribunal annuls Adeleke’s victory, declares Oyetola Osun gov

The Election Petition Tribunal in sitting in Osun state on Friday has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) Adegboyega Oyetola winner of the state governorship election.

The tribunal after hearing all sides annulled the victory of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP’s) Ademola Adeleke of the result of the July 16 Osun governorship poll.

Justice Tetsea Kume, while delivering a majority decision declared that INEC did not comply substantially with the Constitution and the provisions of the Electoral Act.

Kume subsequently deducted the over-voting observed from the votes scored by the candidates and declared that Oyetola won the election, having polled 314, 921, while Adeleke’s score came down to 290, 266.

He directed INEC to withdraw Adeleke’s certificate of return and issued another one to Oyetola who won a majority of the lawful votes.

Meanwhile, a minority decision by one of the judges is being read as at the time of filing this report.

Details later…