Just-In: Akpabio Emerges Senate President

Senator Godswill Akpabio has been declared winner of the Senate president contest.

He polled 63 votes to emerge winner while his closest rival Aziz Yari, got 46 votes.

Akpabio took the oath of office shortly after he was elected.

The Clerk to the National Assembly, Sani Tambuwal swore him in at exactly 9: 45am.