Lagos Assembly drops Egube, one cther clears Omotoso, Abayomi others

The Lagos State House of Assembly has for the second time dropped the nomination of a former budget and economic planning commissioner in the state, Mr Samuel Egube.

Egube was in the list of 39-member cabinet list submitted to the House for screening by the state Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu. He was among the 17 nominees that failed to secure clearance by the lawmakers.

The former commissioner and his counterparts in the Ministry of Health, Professor Akin Abayomi; and Ministry of Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotoso, were however re-presented to the house by the state Governor, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu after a peace meeting was brokered by Governors Advisory Council (GAC).

But while both Omotoso and Abayomi were lucky to scale through the second screening by the lawmakers, Egube was not.

Also dropped was Engineer Olalere Odusote while the nomination of Hon Tolani Sule Akibu was undecided.

Among those cleared were: Dr Tajudeen Abiodun Afolabi, Mrs Barakat Akande-Bakare, Dr Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola, Hon Sola Shakirudeen Giwa, Dr Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje and Mrs Bolaji Cecilia Dada among others.

Below is the full list of confirmed and unconfirmed nominees:

Dr. Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen – Confirmed

Mr. Oluwaseun Oriyomi Osiyemi – Confirmed

Prof. Akinola Emmanuel Abayomi – Confirmed

Engr. Olalere Odusote – Not Confirmed

Dr. Oluwarotimi Omotola Wahab Fashola – Confirmed

Mrs. Folashade Kaosarat Ambrose-Medem – Confirmed

Mr. Akinyemi Bankole Ajigbotafe – Confirmed

Mr. Samuel Egube – Not Confirmed

Hon. Tolani Sule Akibu – Undecided

Mrs. Bolaji Cécilia Dada – Confirmed

Mrs. Barakat Akande Bakare – Confirmed

Mr. Olugbenga Omotosho – Confirmed

Mr. Mosopefoluwa George – Confirmed

Dr. Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje – Confirmed

Dr. Olumide Oluyinka – Confirmed

Mr. Abayomi Samson Oluyomi – Confirmed

Dr. Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola – Confirmed

Hon. Sola Shakirudeen Giwa – Confirmed