Ododo wins Kogi gubernatorial poll

Candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Usman Ododo, has been declared the winner of the Kogi state governorship election.

Ododo polled 446, 237 votes to defeat Murtala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), who came second with 259,052 votes. Dino Melaye, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), scored 46,362 votes.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) returning officer for Kogi, Johnson Urama announced Ododo as the winner at 10:23 p.m. on Sunday.

Ododo, a former auditor general of local government in Kogi under Yahaya Bello, was anointed by the governor who is finishing his two-term of eight years.